About a million years ago…

Lana M Dot

… or three years nearly to the day to be precise Alan and I were in Lanzarote for the Ironman.  It was around the time of the commencement of this blog and I was just starting to find my feet and my voice.  The original post is here.

Three years later and everything (and nothing at all) has changed.

Lanza is still a beautiful and inspirational place and Ironman is still a beautiful mix of determination overcoming adversity and human endeavour triumphing over all that has cause to make us sad.  Even just for a short while.

Lanzarote

Normally on breaks like this – after barely a cocktail or two I start to eulogize about training and targets in an enthusiastic and unrealistic manner.  But this time – I could not build the desire to even think about it.

I realised how knackered I am.  And I felt sad for that but there was something else.  Something has changed.  At the moment, it’s not tangible.  I can’t describe or put my finger on it but it feels like I’m older, care worn.  My days of bouncing around like Tigger feel like they are gone.  But in its place is someone who is more responsible, more sedate but more reasoned, calmer and more rational.  Someone who has finally transitioned from a child into a grown up.

And while I was surrounded by people who I barely see from year to year but count on to always be there when you need them and in the solitude of time away from life I realised that my love for that life is not destroyed as I had feared.

 

 

About PT Nicky

I'm a girl in the world just trying to make 1% improvements everyday. I recently qualified as a Personal Trainer. I certainly don't fit the aesthetic of a PT. I want to demonstrate that ordinary people can achieve their hearts desire. Clean eating advocate with paleo leanings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to About a million years ago…

  1. Lee the Pea says:

    I’m not sure about you, but sometimes I think that while the past can be hard to let go of, we also forget that it’s okay to allow ourselves to become a different person, esp. different to who you thought you would be. Letting go of the past is as much about letting go of who you thought you would become. Life is changing, and it can go in any direction you choose, regardless of where you’ve come from xx

  2. trilady says:

    Quite – and I guess in the long run we become more rational and more balanced and hopefully more sure of ourselves (or we care less about what others think) and only then can we be really true to ourselves…

  3. Amanda Rencontre says:

    There is not much to say in favour of aging but I certainly agree you cars less what others think and more true to yourself and that brings a certain mellowness but also empowerment to be who you are and do what you want to do. I sense a little more calmness and clarity in you and I hope that stays as you resume the return to work.

Leave a comment